BREAKING: 7 Labour MPs announce resignation from party to form new ‘Independent Group’

Chuka Umunna at launch of the Independent Group
Support us and go ad-free

7 Labour MPs have officially announced their resignations from the Labour Party.

The 7 MPs are as follows.

  • Chuka Umunna
  • Luciana Berger
  • Chris Leslie
  • Angela Smith
  • Mike Gapes
  • Gavin Shuker
  • Ann Coffey

They made the announcement just after 10am on 18 February, days after pledges for the party’s unity went viral.

The movement of newly independent MPs calls itself “The Independent Group“.

Defecting MPs will not be calling by-elections in their constituencies. Many commentators have called on defectors to call by-elections, claiming their increased majorities were largely down to Corbyn’s progressive Labour manifesto.

History suggests that the new movement’s only impact will be to meddle with left / liberal politics. And this will simply enable the continuation of misery and hardship at the hands of the Conservative party.

Feature image via Screengrab/BBC News 

Support us and go ad-free

Do your bit for independent journalism

Did you know that less than 1.5% of our readers contribute financially to The Canary? Imagine what we could do if just a few more people joined our movement to achieve a shared vision of a free and fair society where we nurture people and planet.

We need you to help out, if you can.

When you give a monthly amount to fund our work, you are supporting truly independent journalism. We hold power to account and have weathered many attempts to shut us down and silence the counterpoint to the mainstream.

You can count on us for rigorous journalism and fearless opposition to an increasingly fascist government and right wing mainstream media.

In return you get:

  • Advert free reading experience
  • Behind the scenes monthly e-newsletter
  • 20% discount from our shop


The Canary Fund us