Tory Party election exodus: twenty-five MPs announce they’re standing down

Support us and go ad-free

Twenty-five current Tories, including six women, have announced they will not seek reelection when the country votes in December.

Almost all of the Conservative MPs quitting politics ahead of the forthcoming general election voted to remain in the European Union at the 2016 referendum.

Senior figures from the party who are leaving parliament include former Cabinet ministers Sir Michael Fallon, Sir Patrick McLoughlin and Nicky Morgan.

Former de facto deputy prime minister Sir David Lidington, as well as Boris Johnson’s brother, Jo, are also standing down ahead of the poll.

POLITICS Brexit ElectionTimetable
Timetable for December 12 general election (PA Graphics)

Just two of the 25 said they voted Leave in the EU referendum.

Read on...

The exodus has provoked concern that the Conservatives will shift further to the right in the next election with the loss of prominent moderates.

The likes of Morgan, Seema Kennedy and Mims Davies, who are widely viewed as being in their political prime, will be seen as a big loss for the party.

Former Tories Nick Boles, Ken Clarke, Guto Bebb, Sir Oliver Letwin, Justine Greening, Rory Stewart and Amber Rudd are also not seeking reelection and all said they voted to Remain.

Ex-home secretary Rudd said it was “very sad” to see “so many younger Conservative women leaving Parliament”.

The abuse and threats of violence faced in particular by female parliamentarians has been a factor in some decisions to stand down.

Announcing her decision, Morgan said: “The clear impact on my family and the other sacrifices involved in, and the abuse for, doing the job of a modern MP can only be justified if, ultimately, Parliament does what it is supposed to do – represent those we serve in all areas of policy, respect votes cast by the electorate and make decisions in the overall national interest.”

In total, 67 female Conservative MPs were elected in 2017.

Nine of them, 13%, have so far said they are standing down at this election, six who are still Tory MPs, three who are ex-Tory MPs.

All of them said they voted Remain in the 2016 referendum except Davies.

By contrast, 250 male Tory MPs were elected in 2017.

Twenty four of these have so far said they are standing down, 19 of whom are still Tory MPs, five of whom are ex-Tory MPs.

All of them said they voted Remain except Glyn Davies.

We know everyone is suffering under the Tories - but the Canary is a vital weapon in our fight back, and we need your support

The Canary Workers’ Co-op knows life is hard. The Tories are waging a class war against us we’re all having to fight. But like trade unions and community organising, truly independent working-class media is a vital weapon in our armoury.

The Canary doesn’t have the budget of the corporate media. In fact, our income is over 1,000 times less than the Guardian’s. What we do have is a radical agenda that disrupts power and amplifies marginalised communities. But we can only do this with our readers’ support.

So please, help us continue to spread messages of resistance and hope. Even the smallest donation would mean the world to us.

Support us
  • Show Comments
    1. These MP’s I’d say kept a sense of humane illusion alive to the Conservative philosphy, and have quit as the hope of any illusion to bring about a better world is now gone.
      The resulting social atmosphere isn’t tenable to work in.
      Sad doesn’t describe it. Dangerous to abide by the whims of a meglomanic does.
      The trick for the Labour Party however is to deselect at the community level those of its MP’s like Tom Watson, Hodge and others who campaigned the fake antisemitic issue about Corbyn along with the “Sun”, and the 5 billionaires who control the mainstream media from the Labour Party. Make sure these people can’t run again.
      They don’t have the wits to realize the vision of Corbyn, and why so many young people voted the Labour Party in.
      To think these Labour MP’s plan to ignore the reason why the Party increased its’ vote in the last election.

    Leave a Reply

    Join the conversation

    Please read our comment moderation policy here.